project 365: 12.31.11

The last photo of 2011. Whew!  My favorite part of the 365 project is being able to look back on each day – like a photographic journal.  I always LOVED the days that I took a great shot.  And then there are the days that I REALLY didn’t want to pick up my camera, but I’m glad I did, even if it was a shot of a tshirt or the tv screen.  Those photos are memories.

2011 has been quite the adventure, as I know it has been for everyone. I have had amazing experiences and very difficult ones. I graduated photography school – an amazing, difficult, fun, eye-opening experience. I’ve also had exciting job opportunities and travel.

2011 has also been a year of loss. My sweet Granny was one of the strongest and most influential people in my life.  Her house was definitely my favorite place to be growing up and sometimes my heart aches to be there again.

And while it’s great to have those memories and fun to look back, it’s important not to get lost in the past.  There are 2 quotes that I’ve had rolling around in my head for the last few days as I reflect on 2011 and look forward to 2012. Someone gave these to me several years ago and they stuck.  Just a great reminder that there comes a season to let go of the past and look forward…

“One problem with gazing too frequently into the past is that we may turn around to find the future has run out on us.” ~Michael Cibenko

“Some of us think holding on makes us strong, but sometimes it is letting go.” ~Hermann Hesse

Goodbye 2011. I can’t wait to see what 2012 has in store!

2 thoughts on “project 365: 12.31.11

  1. I would say that this is one of your fabulous shots of the year! Wowza!
    And I will leave you with my quote for the year end 😉 :
    I need to leave my past behind; I need to leave my behind in the past. ~ The B-52’s

Leave a Reply

